Eason’s Headquarter Building on O’Connell Street is an iconic landmark at the heart of Dublin. It has been occupied by Eason since Charles Eason acquired it in 1886, and it has deep roots in Dublin’s history. The Eason Building suffered extensive damage during the Rising while occupied by rebels. From 1917-1919, it was reinforced with a carved limestone facade, giving the building its iconic features including the name plate above the main entrance and the famous Eason clock.
This project serves as a love letter not only to the building itself, but to Irish literature. The famous Eason wordmark, hand drawn over a hundred years ago, is debossed onto the linen cover in gold foil, along with a linear pattern that evokes the shape of an open book. Gold metallic ink is used throughout, with a gold ribbon page marker. The edges of the pages are foiled with gold Koloredge. Each chapter opens with a quote from the works of famous Irish writers including Oscar Wilde, Samuel Beckett and Maeve Binchy. The chapters are numbered with Roman numerals based on the Eason clock and the layout of the body text emulates a traditional typesetting style commonly used in literary works.